Friday, February 13, 2009

Tyler Lapic Mr. Hockey Finalist

Sometimes with 4 people posting on this blog things get lost. It looks like we forgot to mention that Badger recruit and New Prague high school forward Tyler Lapic has been named a finalist for the 2009 Minnesota Mr. Hockey.

Lately Wisconsin has had decent success with the event. They currently roster two former Mr. Hockey winners with Centennials Tommy Gorowsky and Cretin Durham Hall's Ryan McDonagh. Last season Wisconsin had two finalists in the Mr. Hockey sweepstakes with Burnsvilles Tyler Barnes, and Minnetonka's Jake Gardiner. Gardiner is obviously on the roster this season while Barnes will join the Badgers next fall.

While Lapic certainly isn't the favorite to win the award, its an honor to be nominated none the less. At this point in the game I'd have to say the voters will probably be favoring Eden Prarie's Nick Leddy. In my opinion, this season is more wide open than any other year. It wouldn't surprise me in the least to see any one of the ten finalists win the award.

Here is the list of finalists and college commitments thanks to Western College Hockey

Dan DeLisle, Totino Grace (Minnesota-Duluth)
Marshall Everson, Edina (Harvard)
Ben Hanowski, Little Falls (St. Cloud)
Tyler Lapic, New Prague (Wisconsin)
Nick Leddy, Eden Prairie (Minnesota)
Anders Lee, Edina (Notre Dame)
Danny Matson, Holy Angels (North Dakota)
Zach Palmquist, South St. Paul (Minnesota State)
Tyler Pilick, Centennial (Minnesota State)
Max Tardy, Duluth East (Minnesota-Duluth)