Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Patty Kaz nominees announced

On Sunday, the 43 nominees for the 2009 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award were announced. The list includes 4 Badgers: Meghan Duggan, Hilary Knight, Erika Lawler, and Jessie Vetter.

Before the announcement, uwbadgers.com already had Patty Kaz sites for Knight and Vetter, so I'm assuming that that Knight and Vetter were nominated by Coach Johnson and that Duggan and Lawler were nominated by other coaches. I don't really know how the whole thing works, but here's what dave1381 posted on uscho:
The procedure last year was that coaches nominate two players from their team. They also are asked to list the top three players at their league and national level.
Hopefully uwbadgers.com will also put together Patty Kaz sites for Duggan and Lawler now as well.

The Badgers' having 4 players nominated is quite impressive. Congratulations to Meghan, Hilary, Erika, and Jessie on their nominations!

The top-10 finalists will be announced March 2, and the top-3 finalists will be announced March 10. The award will be presented in conjunction with the Women's FF on Sat, March 21. Good luck, Badgers!