Thursday, March 5, 2009

Badgers win WCHA Honors

WCHA awards were announced today, and 7 Badger players received honors, as did head coach Mark Johnson. Most notably, Hilary Knight was named WCHA Player of the Year! Hilary, she's the bomb. (You'll notice that Jessie Vetter did not win goaltender of the year; that honor went to freshman Alyssa Grogan from minnesota.)

Hilary Knight - Player of the Year, 1st-Team All-WCHA
Jessie Vetter - 1st-Team All-WCHA
Erika Lawler - 2nd-Team All-WCHA
Meghan Duggan - 3rd-Team All-WCHA
Alycia Matthews - 3rd-Team All-WCHA
Brooke Ammerman - 3rd-Team All-WCHA, All-Rookie Team
Brittany Haverstock - All-Rookie Team
Mark Johnson - WCHA Co-Coach of the Year (with minnesota's Brad Frost)

Congratulations, Badgers!

9 Badgers also were named to the WCHA All-Academic team: Rachel Bible, Mallory Deluce, Meghan Duggan, Maria Evans, Kayla Hagen, Angie Keseley, Erika Lawler, Alycia Matthews, and Jessie Vetter.

Nice work, ladies!

Here are the and releases and a blurb in the WSJ. Also, one of the Fitchburg, MA papers had a nice feature on Erika Lawler.

Ya know, I'm not sure if I posted this yet, so I'm going to go ahead and post it here -- current Badger Jessie Vetter and past Badger players Molly Engstrom and Sara Bauer were named Top-10 players from the 1st 10 years of the Women's WCHA. Here are the and releases.

Just a reminder that Vetter, Knight, and Lawler are all top-1o finalists for the Patty Kaz. The top-3 finalists will be named on March 10.