Saturday, November 13, 2010

Saturday Night Lineups: Murray Out, Meuer In

Just saw the lineups posted by Grand Forks Herald beat writer Brad Elliott Schlossman and Jordy Murray is not in the lineup tonight for Wisconsin. I guess the injury was serious enough to hold him out of tonight's match up vs North Dakota.

If you missed it, Murray was injured on an illegal elbow to the head by UND forward Brett Hextall. Hextall was assessed a five minute major and game misconduct for contact to the head.

Wisconsin captain Sean Dolan tweeted this today, "Jordy is feeling better today has some nice zips in his chin... Can't wait for the game tonight."

Wisconsin head coach Mike Eaves has promoted senior winger Podge Turnbull up to the top unit with Craig Smith and Mark Zengerle. Should be a great opportunity for Turnbull tonight. Red shirt freshman Keegan Meuer has been inserted on the fourth line on the right side with Jefferson Dahl and Jason Clark. This will be Meuer's third game for the Badgers this season.

Another interesting note is Eaves going back to Scott Gudmandson (pictured) again tonight. Scott played great last night but I don't like this move. I've been a proponent of the rotation and it's way too early to be picking and choosing spots. Brett Bennett has played just as good this season and deserves the opportunity against North Dakota tonight. That said, I'm very confident that Gudmandson will play great tonight. What a great problem to have.


8 Podge Turnbull–15 Craig Smith–9 Mark Zengerle
10 Patrick Johnson–16 Sean Dolan–20 Ryan Little
25 Michael Mersch–23 Derek Lee–7 Tyler Barnes
29 Jason Clark–14 Jefferson Dahl–12 Keegan Meuer

19 Jake Gardiner–6 Justin Schultz
3 Craig Johnson–55 John Ramage
24 Joe Faust–27 Frankie Simonelli

1 Scott Gudmandson
33 Brett Bennett


11 Derek Rodwell–22 Brad Malone–7 Danny Kristo
17 Jason Gregoire–10 Corban Knight–26 Brett Hextall
19 Evan Trupp–29 Brock Nelson–21 Matt Frattin
8 Mike Cichy–9 Mario Lamoureux–20 Joe Gleason

24 Ben Blood–5 Chay Genoway
3 Derrick LaPoint–18 Dillon Simpson
4 Derek Forbort–25 Jake Marto

32 Aaron Dell
31 Brad Eidsness
Follow me on Twitter