Thursday, March 3, 2011

Knight, Duggan named Patty Kaz Finalists

Thursday Wisconsin forwards Meghan Duggan (pictured) and Hillary Knight were announced as top 10 finalists for the 2011 Patt Kazmaier Award.

According to the release, "This year marks the 14th annual presentation of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, given annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey. Selection criteria includes outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement."

Duggan, a senior forward was also honored on Thursday by the WCHA as it's Player of the Year. Duggan, a member of last years USA Olympic team which picked up a silver medal in Vancouver led the WCHA in scoring with 61 points in 28 games for a 2.18 point per game clip. Duggan won the league scoring race by 10 points over teammate and line mate, Sophomore Brianna Decker. Duggan's 79 total points this season are tied for first nationally.

Knight, a junior forward is putting goals on the board at an insane rate this season. Her 46 goals this season are 11 more than the next highest goal scorer (Duggan). Knight's 46 goals this season are also more than 4 Division-1 women's teams scored the entire season. Knight was also honored by the WCHA on Thursday being announced as a first team All-WCHA forward. This is the second time Knight has been a finalist for the Patty Kaz.

According to, 10 UW women's players have been finalists for the award: Sara Bauer (2006, 2007), Duggan (2011), Molly Engstrom (2005), Meghan Hunter (2001), Knight (2009, 2011), Erika Lawler (2009), Carla MacLeod (2005), Meaghan Mikkelson (2007), Bobbi-Jo Slusar (2006) and Jessie Vetter (2009).

Sara Bauer won the award in 2006 and Jessie Vetter won the award in 2009.

Here are the Badges honored by the WCHA on Thursday at the League Awards:

Hilary Knight-First team forward
Meghan Duggan-First team forward
Brianna Decker-First team forward
Brittany Haverstock-Third team defenseman
Brittany Ammerman-All Rookie team forward
Alex Rigsby-All Rookie team goalie
Mark Johnson-Coach of the year

Follow me on Twitter