Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Schultz Named Hobey Baker Top 10 Finalist

Editors Note: Apologize for being behind but I'm still playing catch up from the Final Five.

As one should after putting up a 47 point season playing defense, Wisconsin sophomore defenseman Justin Schultz has been named as a top 10 finalist for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as named by the Hobey Baker committee last Thursday.

Already named as a First Team All-WCHA performer as well as the WCHA Defensive player of the year, Schultz now has Hobey Finalist to add to his already impressive resume. The West Kelowna, British Columbia native led all defensemen in scoring by 7 points. Schultz's 18 goals this season are the most for a defenseman in NCAA hockey since 2002-2003.

Schultz becomes the fourth Badger to be a top 10 Hobey Baker finalist in the past 3 seasons. In 2009, current Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Jamie McBain was a finalist and last season Nashville Predators forward Blake Geoffrion and Detroit Redwings prospect Brendan Smith made the final 10. Geoffrion went on to win the award, becoming the first player in Wisconsin history to do so.

Besides Schultz, Matt Frattin from the University of North Dakota and Jack Connolly from the University of Minnesota Duluth were other members of the WCHA who were named finalists. The other seven were Cam Atkinson from Boston College, Carter Camper and Andy Meile from Miami, Gustav Nyquist from Maine, Chase Polacek from RPI, Paul Thompson from the University of New Hampshire and Niagara's Paul Zanette.

Wisconsin Top 10 Hobey Baker Finalists:
2011-Justin Schultz-Defense
2010-Blake Geoffrion-Forward (Won)
2010-Brendan Smith-Defense
2009-Jamie McBaine-Defense
2006-Brian Elliott-Goaltender
2001-Dany Heatley-Forward
2000-Steven Reinprecht-Forward
1992-Duane Durksen-Goaltender
1988-Paul Ranheim-Forward
1988-Tony Granato-Forward