Thursday, June 17, 2010

Ramage Invited To USA National Junior Eval Camp

Yesterday USA Hockey announced the names of 44 players who will be participating in the 2010 USA Hockey National Junior Evaluation Camp in Lake Placid, NY. The evaluation camp is the major tool that USA Hockey uses to evaluate players for the selection of the 2010 World Junior Championship team. Although USA Hockey does make exceptions for players who stand out during the early part of the college season.

One of those exceptions last season was Wisconsin defenseman John Ramage. Rammer wasn't invited to the eval camp but had an outstanding first half of the season and was named to last years Gold Medal winning squad. USA Hockey didn't make the same mistake this season and invited him to camp.

Ramage, one of fourteen defenseman at camp should be looked at as a virtual lock to make this years team. There are exceptions obviously, but for the most part, returning players usually locks to make the team the next season.

Ramage is the only Badger to be invited this season. He continues in a long line of players to wear a Badger sweater to compete in the prestigious World Junior Championship. Former Badger player and asssitant coach Mark Osiecki is back for his second season as assistant coach. Former Badger player Jim Johannson is the General Manager.

Badgers who have played in the World Junior Championship:
2010: USA-Derek Stepan, John Ramage, Jake Gardiner, Mark Osiecki (Ass. Coach) (GOLD)
2009: USA-Ryan McDonagh; Canada-Cody Goloubef (GOLD)
2008: USA-Jamie McBain, Blake Geoffrion; Canada-Kyle Turris (GOLD)
2007: USA-Jack Skille, Jamie McBain, Blake Geoffrion (BRONZE)
2006: USA-Jack Skille
2005: USA-Jake Dowell, Jeff Likens, Ryan Suter
2004: USA-Jake Dowell, Jeff Likens, Ryan Suter, Mike Eaves (Head Coach), Jim Johannson (Team Leader) (GOLD)
2003: USA-Ryan Suter, Jeff Sauer (Ass. Coach) Jim Johannson (Team Leader)
2002: USA-Jim Johannson (Team Manager)
2001: Canada-Dany Heatley (BRONZE)
2000: USA-Brad Winchester; Canada-Dany Heatley (BRONZE)
1999: USA-Matt Doman, David Tanabe
1998: USA-Dustin Kuk
1995: USA-Dan Thompkins
1993: USA-Jim Carey, Brian Rafalski, Mark Strobel
1992: USA-Brian Rafalski, Chris Tucker (BRONZE)
1990: USA-Barry Richter, Sean Hill, Jason Zent
1989: USA-Barry Richter, Rodger Sykes
1988: USA-Rob Mendel
1986: USA-Paul Ranheim, Mike Richter (BRONZE); Canada-Scott Mellanby (SILVER)
1985: USA-Mike Richter
1984: USA-Tony Granato, Jim Johannson, Gary Suter, Marty Wiitala
1983: USA-Tony Granato, Jim Johannson, Tim Thomas, Ernie Vargas; Canada-Pat Flatley (BRONZE)
1982: USA-Chris Chelios, Charlie Lundeen, Tim Thomas
1981: USA-Pat Ethier, John Johannson, Brian Mullen
1980: USA-Pat Ethier, Lexi Doner, Todd Lecy, Brian Mullen
1979: USA-Peter Johnson
1978: USA-Ron Griffin, Scott Lecy