Thursday, June 24, 2010

Geoffrion Nominated For An ESPY-VOTE NOW

Wisconsin Badgers Tri-Captain and 2010 Hobey Baker winner Blake Geoffrion continues to accumulate accolades. Just a few months removed from the Frozen Four, Geoffrion has been nominated for an ESPN ESPY award for "Best Male College Athlete."

You can vote for Blake by going to this LINK.

Other players nominated are Mark Ingram, Alabama football Heisman Trophy winner; Evan Turner, Ohio State baskebtall player; John Wall, Kentucky basketball player, and Garrett Wittels, Florida International baseball player who has a current 56 game hitting streak going.

In addition to his ESPY nomination, yesterday Blake was named the University of Wisconsin Male Athlete of the Year. Junior simmer/diver Maggie Meyer was named the Female Athlete of the Year.

Each Big Ten school nominates a male and female Athlete of the Year, and those two student-athletes become nominees for the Big Ten Conference Athlete of the Year awards. The Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year awards are then voted on by a panel of conference media members. The Big Ten will announce its athlete of the year award winners on Wednesday at 6 p.m.

Photo by Melody Hasse