Friday, April 8, 2011

Gardiner, Schultz Named All-Americans

Thirty-Five former Wisconsin men's hockey players carry the honor of being named an All-American during their time in Madison. Friday it was announced that Justin Schultz (First Team) and Jake Gardiner (Second Team) would become the 36th and 37th members of that group as they were named to the American Hockey Coaches Association West All-American team.

Schultz, a sophomore defenseman led all blueliners in scoring this season with 47 points in 41 games for the Badgers. The West Kelowna, British Columbia natives 18 goals this season were the most for a blueliner since the 2002-2003 season. Schultz, who has already announced his intentions to return to the Badgers for another season becomes the 26th First Team All-American for UW. He's the 12th defenseman in Wisconsin history to be named to the First Team.

Gardiner, a junior defenseman had another strong season for the Badgers. His 41 points in 41 games this season was second to only teammate and defensive partner Justin Schultz among all blueliners. The Minnetonka, Minnesota native was once again one of the Badgers best in his own end. Gardiner was second on the club, and led all Badger blueliners in plus/minus with a +22 rating this season and +50 for his career. Gardiner recently signed a contract with the NHL's Toronto Maple Leafs, forgoing his final season of eligibility at Wisconsin.

AHCA First Team West All-America

F-Matt Frattin-North Dakota
F-Jack Connolly-Minnesota Duluth
F-Andy Miele-Miami
D-Justin Schultz-Wisconsin
D-Chay Genoway-North Dakota
G-Pat Nagle-Ferris State

AHCA Second Team West All-America

F-Mike Connolly-Minnesota Duluth
F-Carl Hagelin-Michigan
F-Carter Camper-Miami
D-Jake Gardiner-Wisconsin
D-Zach Redmond-Ferris State
G-Aaron Dell-North Dakota

University of Wisconsin All-Americans (First team unless noted)

John Jagger-1970
Jeff Rotsch-1972
Brian Engblom-1975
Craig Norwich-1976, 1977
Julian Baretta-1977
Mike Eaves-1977, 1978
Mark Johnson-1978, 1979
Theren Welsch-1980
Roy Schultz-1980
Bruce Driver-1982
John Newberry-1982
Patrick Flatley-1983
Tony Granato-1985 (2nd), 1987 (2nd)
Tim Thomas-1985 (2nd)
Paul Ranheim-1988
Paul Stanton-1988
Dean Anderson-1988 (2nd)
Steve Tuttle-1988 (2nd)
Curtis Joseph-1989 (2nd)
Gary Shuchuk-1990
Sean Hill-1991 (2nd)
Duane Derksen-1992 (2nd)
Barry Richter-1993
Brian Rafalski-1995
Kirk Daubenspeck-1997 (2nd)
Jeff Dessner-2000
Steve Reinprecht-2000
Dany Heatley-2000 (2nd), 2001
Bernd Bruckler-2004
Brian Elliott-2006
Joe Pavelski-2006 (2nd)
Tom Gilbert-2006 (2nd)
Jamie McBain-2009
Brendan Smith-2010
Blake Geoffrion-2010
Jake Gardiner-2011 (2nd)
Justin Schultz-2011

Follow me on Twitter